Technical Steering Committee

The Technical Steering Committee (TSC) of OpenPOWER is composed of the chair of each OpenPOWER Work Group as well as a delegate from each of its Platinum Members. Each member of the OpenPOWER TSC shall serve for a two-year term.
The operation of the TSC is governed by rules of process approved by the Board and led by an elected TSC chairman.

Responsibilities of the TSC include:

  • Recommending the charter of new Work Groups to the Board; including scope of work and confidentiality level;
  • Resolving technical conflicts within and between Work Groups;
  • Evaluating requests for inter-project collaboration and recommending the chartering of new Work Groups to facilitate such collaboration;
  • Monitoring the technical progress of Work groups;
  • Approving OpenPOWER Standards Final Deliverables;
  • Establishing OpenPOWER Standards Final Deliverable quality standards, technical best practices and release dates;
  • Approving changes by Work Groups to OSS Communities and OSS Licenses in the Work Group’s charter, and under section 3.5 of the Intellectual Property Rights Policy;
  • Regularly reporting on progress of Work Groups to the Board.

Jeff Scheel, Technical Steering Committee Chair, OpenPOWER Foundation

Jeff Scheel

Technical Steering Committee Chair

Jeff Scheel is a Distinguished Engineer in IBM’s Cognitive Systems Group and member of IBM Academy of Technology. He joined IBM in 1992 in Rochester, Minnesota with a B.S. in Computer Engineering from University of California at Davis. At IBM he has worked in Storage I/O adapter microcode, Logical Partitioning software, Linux for IBM Power Systems, and software for the Blue Gene super computer. For the OpenPOWER Foundation, he has represented IBM as a charter member of the System Software Work Group and Chair for 3 years. He was elected Chair of the Technical Steering Committee in early 2018.